John Saunders Named Honorary Parade Marshal for St. Patrick’s Day Parade in St. Louis

ST. LOUIS, March 9, 2016 – John Saunders, president and CEO of FleishmanHillard, has been named the Honorary Parade Marshal of St. Louis’ 48th Annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade on Saturday, March 11, 2017.

Originally from Dublin, Saunders is one of several Irish natives to serve as the parade’s Honorary Parade Marshal. This year, he joins several notable figures to lead the parade activities, including Irish guest of honor Mary Mitchell O’Connor, Ireland’s Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation. It is the first time in nearly two decades that a senior member of the Irish Cabinet will travel to St. Louis for the events. Other parade leaders include: founder and St. Louis Irish Consul Joseph McGlynn, Jr.; Parade Committee Chairperson Joe Milligan; Mayor Francis Slay; Parade Director Karen Lee; Police Chief Sam Dotson; and Fire Chief Dennis Jenkerson.

The parade, a hallmark event for St. Louis, is also known as its “Rite of Spring,” and will be dedicated to the city’s First Responders. In the past it has attracted more than 350,000 spectators, and this year will feature more than 130 units, including a Marine color guard, floats, bands and more than 5,000 marchers. Preceding the parade will be the 39th annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade Run, the city’s largest locally organized run with more than 8,000 participants. Throughout both events, all are encouraged to use the hashtag #stlucky to share why they feel lucky this St. Patrick’s Day.

For more information about the parade, please visit